Compare Items
Please, add items to this compare group or choose not empty group
CannaBest / Resources / Where Cannabis is Legal in the USA

The following is a state-by-state breakdown of laws regarding cannabis, including: CBD, THC (regulated products), and hemp.

AL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY DC
USA State-by-State Guide

USA Commonwealth and Territories Guide

Alabama

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Alabama, only medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2021. Adults 19+ with a doctor’s recommendation may possess up to 70 doses of 75mg, non-flower cannabis for treatment of qualifying medical conditions.

Recreational marijuana use is not allowed in Alabama.

Possession of any amount of cannabis is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $6,000 and up to 1 year imprisonment.

Possession of any amount of concentrate is a felony.

Alaska

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Alaska, recreational and medical marijuana are legal as well as CBD and hemp.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2014. Adults 21+ may possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana (28 grams), or up to 7 grams of concentrate, and grow up to 12 plants at their home.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 1998. Patients 21+ are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana (28 grams) of marijuana, or 7 grams of concentrate, and grow up to 12 plants in their home.

Arizona

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Arizona, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2020. Adults 21+ are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana or 5 grams of concentrate, and grow up to 6 plants in their home.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2010. Adults 18+ may purchase up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana every 14 days, or 5 grams of concentrate, and to grow up to 12 plants at their home.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in Arizona.

Arkansas

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Arkansas, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2016. Patients 21+ with a doctor’s recommendation may possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana for treatment of qualifying medical conditions. Home cultivation is not allowed.

Recreational marijuana use is not allowed in Arkansas. Possession of up to 4 ounces is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $2,500 and up to 1 year imprisonment.

Possession of more than 4 ounces, or a second offense, is a felony.

Any conviction for a cannabis offense will also result in a six month driver’s license suspension.

California

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of California, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2016. Adults 21+ may possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana (28 grams) or 8 grams of concentrate and may grow up to 6 plants for personal use.

Medical patients may possess as many ounces and grow as many plants as specified by their local ordinances.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in California.

Colorado

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Colorado, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2014. Adults 21+ may possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana (28 grams) or 8 grams of concentrate, and may grow up to 3 mature plants for personal use.

Medical patients may purchase up to 2 ounces (57 grams) of marijuana or 8 grams of concentrate daily and may grow up to 6 plants for personal use.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in Colorado.

Connecticut

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Connecticut, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2021. Adults 21+ may carry up to 1.5 ounces (42 grams) of marijuana or 7.5 grams of concentrate. They may also possess up to 5 ounces of marijuana (140 grams) or 25 grams of concentrate in their home or locked in their car. Home growing for personal use is prohibited until at least 2023. 

Medical patients 18+ may carry up to 1.5 ounces of marijuana (42 grams) or 7.5 grams of concentrate and possess up to 5 ounces of marijuana (140 grams) in their home or locked in their car. They may also grow up to 6 plants in their home for personal use, or 12 plants if two patients are living together. 

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in Connecticut.

Delaware

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Delaware, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2011. Patients 18+ with qualifying debilitating illnesses may possess up to 6 ounces of marijuana (168 grams).

Recreational marijuana use was decriminalized in 2015. Possession of up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana is a civil penalty and may carry a fine of up to $100.

Possession of up to 175 grams is a misdemeanor and may carry a fine of up to $575 and up to 3 months imprisonment.

Possession of more than 175 grams is a felony.

District of Columbia (Washington D.C.)

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the District of Columbia, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

With the passage of recreational marijuana in 2018, adults 21+ may possess up to 2 ounces (56 grams) of marijuana. They may also grow up to three mature plants at home for personal use.

Medical patients 18+ may possess up to 2 ounces (56 grams) of marijuana and grow up to three mature plants at home for personal use.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in the District of Columbia.

Florida

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Florida, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use passed in 2016. Medical patients or their caregivers may purchase up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana (70 grams) every 35 days, as well as a 70-day supply of other forms of cannabis such as edibles.

Recreational marijuana use is not allowed in Florida. Possession of up to 20 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor and may carry a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 1 year imprisonment.

Possession of more than 20 grams is a felony.

Georgia

Medical (Low THC Cannabis Oil) – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Georgia, only cannabis oil with low-THC, as well as CBD and hemp products that are non-psychoactive (less than .03% THC), are legal.

In 2015, a law was passed allowing medical patients with qualifying conditions to consume cannabis oil with a low-THC percentage (5%).

Recreational and medical marijuana use is illegal in Georgia. Possession of up to 1 ounce of marijuana (28 grams) is a misdemeanor and may carry a fine of up to $1000 and up to 1 year in imprisonment.

Possession of more than 1 ounce is a felony.

Hawaii

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Hawaii, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use passed in 2000. Medical patients 18+ may possess up to 4 ounces of marijuana (113 grams) and may grow up to 10 plants for personal use.

Recreational marijuana use in Hawaii has been decriminalized. Possession of up to 3 grams of marijuana is a violation and can carry a fine of up to $130. Possession of up to 1 pound (lb) of marijuana or up to 3.5 grams of concentrate is a misdemeanor and may carry a fine of up to $2,000 and up to 1 year imprisonment.

Possession of more than 1 pound of marijuana or 3.5 grams of concentrate is a felony.

Idaho

CBD/Hemp

In the state of Idaho, only CBD and hemp products that are non-psychoactive (less than .03% THC) are legal.

Recreational and medical marijuana use is illegal in Idaho. Possession of up to 3 ounces of marijuana (85 grams) is a misdemeanor and may carry a charge of up to $1,000 fine and up to 1 year imprisonment.

Possession of over 3 ounces of marijuana is a felony.

Illinois

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Illinois, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2019. Adults 21+ are allowed to possess up to 30 grams of marijuana or 5 grams of concentrate. Out-of-state visitors may possess up to 15 grams of marijuana or 2.2 grams of concentrate.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2013, patients 18+ are allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of marijuana or 5 grams of concentrate every 14 days and grow up to 5 plants in their home.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in Illinois.

Indiana

CBD/Hemp

In the state of Indiana, only CBD and hemp products that are non-psychoactive (less than .03% THC) are legal.

Recreational and medical marijuana use is illegal in Indiana. Possession of up to 30 grams of marijuana or up to 5 grams of concentrate is a misdemeanor and may carry a charge of up to $5,000 fine and up to 1 year imprisonment.

Possession of more than 30 grams of marijuana or 5 grams of concentrate is a felony.

Iowa

CBD/Hemp

In the state of Iowa, only CBD and hemp products that are non-psychoactive (less than .03% THC) or sold by a state-licensed CBD dispensary are legal.

Recreational and medical marijuana use is illegal in Iowa. Possession of any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor and may carry a charge of up to $1,000 fine and up to 6 months imprisonment. Further offences may carry a charge of up to $6,250 fine and up to 2 years imprisonment.

Kansas

CBD/Hemp

In the state of Kansas, only CBD and hemp products that contain 0% THC are legal.

Patients with a doctor’s recommendation may possess CBD oil with less than 5% THC for qualifying medical conditions.

Recreational and medical marijuana use is illegal in Kansas. Possession of any amount of marijuana may carry a misdemeanor charge of up to a $1,000 fine and up to 6 months imprisonment.

Possession of more than 450 grams of marijuana is a felony.

Kentucky

CBD/Hemp

In the state of Kentucky, only CBD and hemp products that are non-psychoactive (less than .03% THC) are legal.

Recreational and medical marijuana use is illegal in Kentucky. Possession of up to 8 ounces of marijuana (224 grams) is a misdemeanor and may carry a charge of up to a $250 fine and up to 45 days imprisonment.

Possession of over 8 ounces of marijuana is a felony.

Louisiana

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Louisiana, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2016. Adults 18+ with a doctor’s recommendation may purchase a 30-day supply of state-approved, non-flower forms of marijuana.

Recreational marijuana use has been decriminalized. Possession of under 14 grams is a misdemeanor that can carry a fine of up to $100.

Possession of under 2.5 pounds (lbs) is a misdemeanor that can carry a fine of up to $500 and up to 6 months imprisonment.

Possession of more than 2.5 pounds of marijuana is a felony.

Maine

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Maine, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2016. Adults 21+ are allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces (70 grams) of marijuana or 5 grams of concentrate and grow up to 3 flowering plants in their home.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 1999. Patients 18+ are allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana and up to 5 grams of concentrate and grow up to 6 flowering plants in their home.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in Maine.

Maryland

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Maryland, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2014. Adults 18+ with a doctor’s recommendation may purchase up to 4 ounces (120 grams) of marijuana every 30 days.

Recreational marijuana use is decriminalized. Possession of under 10 grams is a civil offence and can carry a fine of up to $100.

Possession of under 50 lbs is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 1 year imprisonment.

Possession of over 50 lbs of marijuana is a felony.

Massachusetts

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Massachusetts, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2016. Adults 21+ are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana or 5 grams of concentrate. They may also possess up to 10 ounces (280 grams) of marijuana in their homes and can grow up to 6 plants for personal use.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2012. Patients 18+ are allowed to possess up to 10 ounces (280 grams) of marijuana or 5 grams of concentrate and grow up to 6 plants in their home.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in Massachusetts.

Michigan

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Michigan, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2018. Adults 21+ are allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces (70 grams) of marijuana or 15 grams of concentrate, and grow up to 12 plants in their home.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2008. Patients 18+ are allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces (70 grams) of marijuana per day, or 15 grams of concentrate, but cannot purchase more than 10 ounces in a month. They can also grow up to 12 plants in their home.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in Michigan.

Minnesota

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Minnesota, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2008. Adults 18+ with a doctor’s recommendation may possess up to a 30-day supply of non-flower cannabis for treatment of qualifying medical conditions.

Recreational marijuana use is not allowed in Minnesota. Possession of under 42.5 grams is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $300.

Possession of more than 42.5 grams of marijuana is a felony.

Mississippi

CBD/Hemp

In the state of Mississippi, only CBD and hemp products that are non-psychoactive (less than .03% THC) are legal.

Patients with a doctor’s recommendation may possess CBD oil with up to .05% THC for qualifying medical conditions.

Medical marijuana use was passed in 2021 and stuck down by the state Supreme Court.

Recreational and medical use has been decriminalized in Mississippi. Possession of up to 30 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor and may carry a charge of up to a $250 fine on the first offense. Subsequent offenses or possession of .1 gram of concentrate may carry a $1,000 fine and up to 6 months imprisonment.

Possession of over 250 grams of marijuana or more than .1 gram of concentrate is a felony. 

Missouri

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Missouri, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2018. Adults 18+ with a doctor’s recommendation may purchase up to 4 ounces of marijuana every 30 days for treatment of qualifying medical conditions.

Recreational marijuana use is not allowed in Missouri. Possession of under 10 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $500.

Possession of under 35 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $2,000 and up to 1 year imprisonment.

Possession of over 35 grams of marijuana is a felony.

Montana

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Montana, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2020. Adults 21+ are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana and grow up to 2 plants in their home.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2004. Patients 18+ are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana and grow up to 4 plants in their home.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in Montana.

Nebraska

CBD/Hemp

In the state of Nebraska, only CBD and hemp products that are non-psychoactive (less than .03% THC) are legal.

Recreational and medical marijuana use is illegal. Possession of up to 1 ounce of marijuana (28 grams) is an infraction and may carry a charge of up to $300 fine.

Possession of up to 1 pound (lb) of marijuana is a misdemeanor and may carry a charge of up to $500 and up to 3 months imprisonment. 

Possession of more than 1 lb of marijuana or any amount of concentrate is a felony.

Nevada

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Nevada, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2016. Adults 21+ are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana or 3.5 grams of concentrate. They may also grow up to 6 plants in their home.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2000. Patients 18+ are allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of cannabis products every two weeks and grow up to 12 plants in their home.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in Nevada.

New Hampshire

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of New Hampshire, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2013. Adults 18+ with a doctor’s recommendation may purchase up to 2 ounces of marijuana every 10 days for treatment of qualifying medical conditions.

Recreational marijuana use is decriminalized in New Hampshire. Possession of under 21 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $100.

Possession of over 21 grams is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $350 and up to 1 year imprisonment.

Possession of more than 1 ounce (28 grams) is a felony.

New Jersey

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of New Jersey, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2020. Adults 21+ are allowed to possess up to 6 ounces (170 grams) of marijuana or 17 grams of concentrates. No cultivation is allowed.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2010. Patients 18+ are allowed to purchase up to 3 ounces (84 grams) of marijuana every 30 days or 17 grams of concentrate. No cultivation is allowed.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in New Jersey.

New Mexico

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of New Mexico, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2021. Adults 21+ are allowed to possess up to 2 ounces (56 grams) of marijuana or 16 grams of concentrate and grow up to 6 plants in their home.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2007. Patients 18+ are allowed to purchase up to 8 ounces (227 grams) of marijuana every 3 months, or 16 grams of concentrate, and grow up to 4 plants in their home.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in New Mexico.

New York

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of New York, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2021. Adults 21+ are allowed to possess up to 3 ounces (85 grams) of marijuana or 24 grams of concentrate and grow up to 3 mature plants in their home.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2014. Patients 18+ are allowed to possess up to a 60-day supply of approved cannabis products and grow up to 3 mature plants in their home.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in New York.

North Carolina

CBD/Hemp

In the state of North Carolina, only CBD and hemp products that are non-psychoactive (less than .03% THC) are legal.

Patients with a doctor’s recommendation may possess CBD oil with .09% THC for qualifying medical conditions.

Recreational and medical marijuana use is illegal in North Carolina. Possession of up to 14 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor and may carry a charge of up to a $200 fine. Possession of up to 42 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor and may carry a charge of up to a $1,000 fine and up to 45 days imprisonment.

Possession of over 42 grams of marijuana is a felony.

North Dakota

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of North Dakota, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2017. Adults 18+ with a doctor’s recommendation may purchase up to 3 grams of flower every 30 days for treatment of qualifying medical conditions.

“Enhanced” cardholders may purchase up to 7.5 grams of flower every 30 days or 4 grams of non-flower cannabis. 

Recreational marijuana use has been decriminalized in North Dakota. Possession of under 14 grams of marijuana is a civil infraction and can carry a fine of up to $1,000.

Possession of up to 500 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $1,500 and up to 30 days imprisonment.

Possession of over 500 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $3,000 and up to 1 year imprisonment.

Ohio

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Ohio, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2016. Adults 18+ with a doctor’s recommendation may possess up to a 45-day supply of state-approved, non-flower forms of cannabis.

Recreational marijuana use has been decriminalized in Ohio. Possession of under 100 grams is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $150.

Possession of under 200 grams is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $250 and up to 30 days of imprisonment.

Possession of over 200 grams is a felony. 

Oklahoma

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Oklahoma, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2018. Adults 18+ with a doctor’s recommendation may possess up to 3 ounces (85 grams) of cannabis and up to 8 ounces (227 grams) at home.

Recreational marijuana use is not allowed in Oklahoma. Possession of any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $1,000 and up to a year’s imprisonment.

Oregon

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Oregon, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2014. Adults 21+ are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana or 5 grams of concentrate and grow up to 4 plants in their home.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 1998. Patients 18+ are allowed to possess up to 24 ounces (680 grams) of marijuana, or 16 ounces of concentrate, and grow up to 4 plants in their home.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in Oregon.

Pennsylvania

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Pennsylvania, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2016. Adults 18+ with a doctor’s recommendation may purchase up to a 30-day supply for treatment of qualifying medical conditions.

Recreational marijuana use is not allowed in Pennsylvania. Possession of under 30 grams of marijuana or 8 grams of concentrate is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $500 and up to 30 days imprisonment.

Possession of over 30 grams of marijuana is a felony.

Rhode Island

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Rhode Island, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2006. Adults 18+ with a doctor’s recommendation may purchase up to 2.5 ounces (70 grams) of cannabis product every 15 days for treatment of qualifying medical conditions.

Recreational marijuana use has been decriminalized in Rhode Island. Possession of under 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana is a civil violation and can carry a fine of up to $150. Possession of up to 1kg of marijuana is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $500 and up to a 1-year imprisonment.

Possession of over 1 kg of marijuana is a felony.

South Carolina

CBD/Hemp

In the state of South Carolina, only CBD and hemp products that are non-psychoactive (less than .03% THC) are legal.

Patients with a doctor’s recommendation may possess CBD oil with 0.9% THC for qualifying medical conditions.

Adults found in possession of up to 1 ounce of marijuana (28 grams) or 10 grams of concentrate may face a misdemeanor charge of up to $200 fine and up to 30 days imprisonment. Adults found in possession of up to 28 grams or 10 grams of concentrate a second time may face a misdemeanor charge of up to a $2,000 fine and up to 1 year imprisonment.

Possession of over 28 grams of marijuana is a felony.

South Dakota

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of South Dakota, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2020. Adults 18+ with a doctor’s recommendation may possess up to 3 ounces of marijuana for treatment of qualifying medical conditions. They may also grow up to 6 plants. 

Recreational marijuana use was passed in 2020, but the law was challenged by the South Dakota Governor and remains undecided.

Currently, recreational marijuana use is not allowed in South Dakota. Possession of under 14 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $2,000 and up to 1 year in prison.

Possession of over 14 grams is a felony.

Tennessee

CBD/Hemp

In the state of Tennessee, only CBD and hemp products that are non-psychoactive (less than .03% THC) are legal.

CBD oil with up to 0.09% THC is allowed for medical patients 18+ with a doctor’s recommendation.

Adults found in possession of up to 14 grams of marijuana may face a misdemeanor charge of up to $250 fine and up to a year’s imprisonment.

Possession of over 14 grams of marijuana is a felony.

Texas

CBD/Hemp

In the state of Texas, only CBD and hemp products that are non-psychoactive (less than .03% THC) are legal.

Patients with a doctor’s recommendation may possess CBD oil with 0.5% THC for qualifying medical conditions.

Adults found in possession of up to 2 ounces of marijuana (56 grams) may face a misdemeanor charge of up to $2,000 fine and up to 180 days imprisonment. Adults found in possession of up to 4 ounces of marijuana (112 grams) may face a misdemeanor charge of up to a $4,000 fine and up to 1 year imprisonment.

Possession of over 4 ounces of marijuana is a felony.

Utah

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Utah, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2018. Adults 18+ with a doctor’s recommendation may purchase up to 112 grams of marijuana every 30 days for treatment of qualifying medical conditions. Home cultivation is illegal.

Recreational marijuana use is not allowed in Utah. Possession of under 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 6 months imprisonment.

Possession of under 1 pound (lb) of marijuana is a misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $2,500 and up to 1 year imprisonment.

Possession of over 1 lb of marijuana is a felony

Vermont

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Vermont, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2020. Adults 21+ are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana or 5 grams of concentrate, and grow up to 2 plants in their home.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2004. Patients 18+ are allowed to possess up to 2 ounces (56 grams) of marijuana, or 5 grams of concentrate, and grow up to 2 plants in their home.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in Vermont.

Virginia

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Virginia, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2021. Adults 21+ are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana, and grow up to 4 plants in their home.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2017. Patients 18+ are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana, or purchase a 90-day supply of cannabis oil, and grow up to 4 plants in their home.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in Virginia.

Washington

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the state of Washington, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2012. Adults 21+ are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce (84 grams) of marijuana or 7 grams of concentrate. Recreational home cultivation is illegal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 1998. Patients 18+ are allowed to possess up to 3 ounces (84 grams) of marijuana, or 21 grams of concentrate, and grow up to 6 plants in their home.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in Washington.

West Virginia

CBD/Hemp

In the state of West Virginia, only CBD and hemp products that are non-psychoactive (less than .03% THC) are legal.

Medical marijuana use was passed in 2017, but the state has not yet established a system of licensing providers or enrolling patients.

Recreational marijuana use is illegal in West Virginia. Possession of any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor and may carry a charge of up to $1,000 fine and up to 6 months imprisonment.

Wisconsin

CBD/Hemp

In the state of Wisconsin, only CBD and hemp products that are non-psychoactive (less than .03% THC) and prescribed by a doctor are legal.

Recreational and medical marijuana use is illegal in Wisconsin. Possession of any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor and may carry a charge of up to a $1,000 fine and up to 6 months imprisonment. Any subsequent offense may face a felony charge of up to a $10,000 fine and up to 3.5 years imprisonment.

Wyoming

CBD/Hemp

In the state of Wyoming, only CBD and hemp products that are non-psychoactive (less than .03% THC) are legal.

Recreational and medical marijuana use is illegal in Wyoming. Possession of up to 3 ounces of marijuana (84 grams) is a misdemeanor and may carry a charge of up to a $1,000 fine and up to 1 year imprisonment.

Possession of more than 3 ounces of marijuana is a felony.

US Commonwealth and Territories

American Samoa

In American Samoa, all cannabis use is illegal. Possession of any amount of cannabis is a felony.

Federated States of Micronesia

In the Federated States of Micronesia, all cannabis use is illegal. Possession of any amount of cannabis is a felony.

Guam

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the country of Guam, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational marijuana use became legal in 2019. Adults 21+ are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana and grow up to 6 plants in their home.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2014. Patients 21+ are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana and grow up to 6 plants in their home.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in Guam.

Marshall Islands

In the Marshall Islands, all cannabis use is illegal. Possession of any amount of cannabis is a felony.

Northern Mariana Islands

Recreational – Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the Northern Mariana Islands, recreational and medical marijuana are legal.

Recreational and medical marijuana use became legal in 2018. Adults 21+ and medical patients of any age are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana (28 grams) or 5 grams of concentrate and grow up to 12 plants in their home.

CBD and hemp products are also allowed in the Northern Mariana Islands.

Palau

In Palau, all cannabis use is illegal. Possession of up to 2 ounces is a crime that may carry a fine of up to $500 for the first offense and up to $1,000 for the second offense.

Puerto Rico

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the country of Puerto Rico, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2015. Adults 18+ with a doctor’s recommendation may possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana or 8 grams of concentrate for treatment of qualifying medical conditions.

Recreational marijuana use is not allowed in Puerto Rico. Possession of any amount of marijuana or concentrates is a felony.

Virgin Islands

Medical – CBD/Hemp

In the U.S. Virgin Islands, medical marijuana, CBD and hemp are legal.

Medical marijuana use became legal in 2019. Adults 18+ with a doctor’s recommendation may purchase up to 3 ounces of dried marijuana every 14 days for treatment of qualifying medical conditions. They may also grow up to 12 plants.

Recreational marijuana is decriminalized in the Virgin Islands. Possession of under 1 ounce of marijuana is a civil offense and can carry a fine of up to $200. Possession of over an ounce may carry a fine of up to $5000 and up to 1 year imprisonment.